Submitting high resolution graphs and figures for publication from iWork’s Pages and Numbers

Recently I submitted a new manuscript for publication.  Within the manuscript I have several figures and line drawings that I created within Numbers and Pages.  Publishers typically require line drawings to be saved in Tiff format and have a resolution of 1200 dpi.

In the past, I copy and pasted my figures and line drawings into Keynote using a really big custom slide.  After scaling up the figure to match the large slide size,  I would then export the Keynote slide as a Tiff and then modify the image size setting and resolution within Photoshop.

This method requires many unnecessary steps.

The easy way is to print the Pages or Numbers document at 1200 dpi resolution and save it as a PDF file.  Then open up the PDF in Photoshop, select the page with the figure or line drawing that you are working on, crop the image, and then save as a Tiff.  That is it.  Repeat for each figure or line drawing.

With this method it is now really easy to use Pages to manage figures, tables, and line drawings for publication.  I typically have one Pages document that contains all of my text, and another Pages document that contains all of my figures, line drawings, and tables.

Leave a Reply

